No. More. Mountains.  I’ve scaled one, and I’m ok with never scaling another, thanks.

This time, it’s not about a mountain, nor a worthy cause, nor camping, or crying, or protein bars.  It’s just about me. I’ve known for a very long time that I am supposed to do something with the many days of my life that lay ahead, and I’m pretty sure that the ‘something’ is supposed to be writing. I know that there are a few people in my life that believe this, too, and have been pushing me to get off my arse and to… well, get ON my arse, actually.

Two days ago I was trying to explain the ‘something’ inside me, and how I’ve always known it was there, but never knew how to get at it. I said that it was like watching fish swim under ice. All these fish, all these ideas, all these dreams – right there for me to see, but not for me to grab hold of. I want to change that. I want to see what happens when I break the ice, as I break the ice. This is not going to be easy, and it may be humiliating and painful, but I figure that the best way to deal with pain and humiliation is to make it public. So hey, welcome to Pain and Humiliation Central – nice to have you aboard!

So… let me start by saying this: mountains are very large, very scary, and very taxing. Climbing Mt. Kilimanjaro left me physically, emotionally, and spiritually exhausted. And that puts me in exactly that right place for No More Mountains.

I call my new adventure No More Mountains for two reasons: 1) I’m really not going to climb a mountain ever again, and 2) I’ve used the mountainous size of my future as an excuse to deter me from setting out to accomplish anything.

The time for that is finished now. It’s time for me now. Yes, I may fail horribly and spend the rest of my days sobbing in a bathtub and drinking cheap wine. But what if I don’t fail? Well, that means I get to spend the rest of my days laughing in a bathtub and drinking expensive wine.

When I wrote my last blog about climbing Kili, I made a promise to post every day. That will not be happening here. Maybe I’ll blog twice a week, maybe I’ll blog twice a day – let’s just see what happens, ok?

So, will this be yet another blog about someone setting out on their life’s quest? Yep.

Will you like this blog about someone setting out on their life’s quest? Maybe.

I’m just glad you’re here.

Robyn

