This morning I dutifully and excitedly made my way on over to Reverb10 to pick up my prompt for the day. It said:

December 3 – Moment. Pick one moment during which you felt most alive this year. Describe it in vivid detail (texture, smells, voices, noises, colors). (Author: Ali Edwards)

Huh. Well, I’ll tell you one thing, standing atop Mt. Kilimanjaro was probably the most DEAD I felt this year, so I knew I needed to take another approach to today’s prompt. I know that I sometimes struggle with my depictions, and felt that my ability to try and describe something wholly intimate was a lot like self-induced belching: it’s easy to do internally, but it never comes out sounding quite right.

Anyway, I decided that I was going to write about the first time that The Cheerleader I Live With told me that he loved me. It’s a wonderfully strange story, and even though I like to share it as often as I can, it actually was the most alive I felt all year. After wandering through the barren wasteland that is divorce, I emerged with dignity but little else. I thought love was over for me, so when I heard those words whispered to me in the dark, I shot to a whole new level of living.

And so, I wrote. I wrote, and wrote, and wrote, and composed a beautiful, yet amusing story about that moment. I was writing, reveling in the memory, oblivious to the fact that The Cheerleader I Live With was downstairs reading my post from yesterday. In true Good Intentions fashion, The Cheerleader I Live With decided to be my shark.

He unplugged my connection to the internet.

Upstairs, I glowingly read over my blog post, and was excited to share our story with Internetville. I hit ‘publish’.

A new screen came up and said that I was not connected to the internet.   wut.

I quickly hit the ‘go back one page’ icon. I saw my blog page loading, but it was now blank. I checked the connection cords – they were fine. But the whole post was gone. Frantically I tried to search through my history, and tried to keep going ‘back’ a page, and another, and another… nothing. The post was gone. The *one* time I didn’t hit “save draft” before I hit “publish”, and this is what happened.

I went downstairs with tears in my eyes to ask my Cheerleader if he had internet connection in his office. His wry smile soon dropped as he saw me crying. He pulled me to him and hugged me, asking what was wrong. I explained the situation through my snotty snurfling, and The Cheerleader I Live With held me even closer. Then, with what must have taken the strength of ten Chuck Norris roundhouse kicks, The Cheerleader I Live With simply said,”I fucked up.”

He told me what he had done, and even showed me the little cord dangling down from where it should have been connected. It was all so outrageously adorable of him, that I couldn’t do anything but laugh. I wiped my nose on his shirt (I’m giving like that), and he brushed the hair from my face and started to laugh with me. He still looked pretty sheepish, but at least we were both smiling.

So… he loves me, he supports me, and he wants me to succeed.

And I feel so alive.

I’m going to go ahead and save this draft now…

