December 5 – Let Go. What (or whom) did you let go of this year? Why? (Author: Alice Bradley)

I can’t say fear, because I’m still afraid. I can’t say mistrust, because I’m still wary. I can’t say hatred, or anger, or jealousy, either. I also can’t say that I’ve let go of laughter, love, beauty, vision, hope, creativity, generosity or peace.

What I have let go of is holding on. I’ve sold my home, donated many possessions, kept some memories, and discarded some nightmares. I know that what I hold on to isn’t what makes me me, but it’s the things that I create that make me hold on to who I am. I don’t need to possess things, or people, or recollections. But what I do need to possess is a firm understanding that who I am makes a difference, and where I am can change.

I’ve let go of planning, not plans. I’ve let go of my grip on the things I never really held. I still have control, but I’ve learned to let go of always being in control.

Why?

Because I finally could.

