Reverb THIS, baby!

December 7 – Community Prompt: Community. Where have you discovered community, online or otherwise, in 2010? What community would you like to join, create or more deeply connect with in 2011? (Author: Cali Harris)

I tend to be more hermit than community participant, and that’s what makes the internet so great. Dorks like me can while the day away chatting with people from Bangalore to Paris, Terra Haute to Nova Scotia, and we can all discuss Julian Assange, Jon Stewart, or the best way to make some sort of flan. I’m part of a connected community of worldwide butt-sitters known as TotalFark.

We help each other find the best things to do and the best places to drink beer in countries around the globe, we recommend good brands of laptops, we help strangers pay their hospital bills, and we send garden gnomes to one another. We send cyberhugs across the wires, and email photos of our butts across the oceans. It’s a collective of weirdness, with a dash of humanity, a dollop of trolling, and a handful of cat videos, all mashed up and liberally sprinkled with anonymity. I am a part of the big, fat anonymous community.

As to 2011 and my role in a new community, I’d actually like to stay warm and comfy in my hovel of TotalFarkness, but maybe branch out and step delicately into the world of being published. I’m doubting that it will be as warm and fuzzy a community, but not everything can be rainbows and lollipops now, can it? And maybe that’s what makes it a great adventure.

2011 – goodbye anonymity, hello world.

