December 10 – Wisdom. What was the wisest decision you made this year, and how did it play out? (Author: Susannah Conway)

I was depressed, exhausted and feeling pointless, but my hair still looked good from Saturday’s Gala, so I decided to go for a walk and let the sun light it through one last time before I washed the pretty out of it once and for all. I grumbled to the dogs that we were going for ‘walkies’, and even though I hoped they didn’t hear me, I was happier when they jumped up with wagging tails that told me that walking alone wasn’t an option.

I suppose I could have taken them to the school and tossed the ball around, but I just didn’t feel like it. I took the lazy way out, and walked up the block to a small park that I knew had a bench and a nice view of the water. I sat on the bench, enjoying the warmth of the sun, and gazed across the river at the little red house on the other side. My dogs ran around like idiots behind me, eating killer sticks and chasing killer birds. But I was feeling  humbled and defeated by my lonely life, and I didn’t want to do anything anymore. Sitting in the sun was at least getting rid of the guilt I was feeling for keeping the dogs cooped up with me for days on end. The fresh air was nice, too.

Looking out across the sun-shimmering water, I heard the sound of an engine as a van came up the road to my right. A white van. With a municipality sticker on the side, and an amber light on top. Well, shit. There goes the day. I knew that I was about to get ticketed for having my dogs off leash, and I really was not in the mood. Subtly, I stood up and began to call the dogs to me so that we could all run out of the park by the opposite gate, and hope that the bylaw officer didn’t give chase. I took a quick glance to judge my timing as I was walking away, and out of the van steps an attractive young man sporting a mohawk. I decided to stay in the park.

Six months later, I sit in that little red house across the water that I was staring at that day, writing a story about how I met the mohawked, municipality-working man that lives here. It was love at first sight when I met The Cheerleader I Live With that day. I knew as soon as I shook his hand that he and I should be together. I had been alone for years, and had finally resigned myself to hollow spinsterdom. I was even considering taking up knitting and learning how to pull taffy. But when I saw The Cheerleader I Live With step out of his van and walk toward me, I knew that was the end of  my contemplating joining a church.

I chose to leave the house that day, at that specific time, and walk the dogs to that little park called Spot on The Water.

I chose to sit on the park bench for a while, instead of simply walking through the park like I do every other time.

I chose to stay instead of run, risking a ticket for a chance to strike up a conversation with a handsome mohawked man.

Decisions, decisions, decisions…

All very wise, indeed.

