December 24 – Everything’s OK. What was the best moment that could serve as proof that everything is going to be alright? And how will you incorporate that discovery into the year ahead? (Author: Kate Inglis)

I don’t know that everything is going to be alright, but that’s what keeps my life from getting dull. I want to always have things to works through, and things to work on. I need the challenge of adversity in order to make me understand my own strength and my own ability to adapt. 2010 has certainly been a year that pushed me to the limits of my physical and emotional boundaries, and sitting here now, near then end of this monumental year in my short life, I’m looking back and marveling at what was thrown in my path.

I loved a job, horrendously lost it in a most devastating way, struggled with unemployment, then finally found a job that, although outside my field of practice and comfort zone, is providing me with incredible opportunities to work in a good space with good people.

I got in a car accident, learned how well a Toyota Echo holds up after being hit by a city bus, and walked away from it all with little more than a sore neck and a spilled mocha. It taught me that I needed to think more about safety, so after a very pleasant interaction with my insurance company, I walked away with enough of  a payout to buy a sturdier car and two dog crates for the back seat. I also learned what a kinesiologist does!

I fell in love. I had been wounded by the arrow of divorce and fought with each day of healing for three years. Slowly, things became lighter, and I began to focus on being me, and not on wishing that I could have been right for him. I was lost for years, flitting about and denying myself depth, until I finally concluded that I was alone, and I was lonely. I started this year secure in the knowledge that my life as a duo would just not happen. In June, I proved myself a liar. My Dream Man exists, and he found me, and now The Cheerleader I Live With and I are the duo we call Team Awesome Possum.

My life is a good one now, and although I expect there to be times of stress and tension in every and all aspects of 2011, I look forward to pushing through it all, and sitting here again next year, and reflecting on how I made everything alright, everything ok.

The way that I know that everything is going to be ok? When I can look back and remember the times when it wasn’t.

