December 25 – Photo – a present to yourself. Sift through all the photos of you from the past year. Choose one that best captures you; either who you are, or who you strive to be. Find the shot of you that is worth a thousand words. Share the image, who shot it, where, and what it best reveals about you.

December 12th, 2010 – W Hotel, Chicago, Illinois…. Robyn and The Cheerleader I Live With.

I took The Cheerleader I Live With to Chicago to see the Chicago Bears play a game at Soldier Field. We took this photo right before we left the hotel to step into the snowy blizzard of the street. It was COLD. Cold, cold, cold. But dammit, we were happy.

This photo encapsulates me in 2010 for a lot of reasons.

1) I’m happy. Even though I’m about to go sit in a cold stadium to watch a game of a sport I know nothing about, I’m happy.

2) I’m in love. The Cheerleader I Live With is my Dream Man, and we are stupidly happy and ridiculously well-suited to one another. He gave me back the hope I lost in the past, and allowed me to believe that I’ll have love in my future.

3) This photo is proof of a gift. A BIG gift. I love to give to other people in strange and inventive ways, and flying The Cheerleader I Live With to another country for a weekend just so he could see a freakin’ football game, was pretty inventive, I think.

4) See that toque? I wore it a lot this year. I wore it hiking when I trained, I wore it when I climbed Mt. Kilimanjaro, and I wore it in Chicago, too. That toque has seen my intense highs and disgusting lows in 2010…  We’re good friends now.

My goal for 2011 is to remain happy, in love, loved, and generous. Best. Goals. EVAR.

