December 28 – Achieve. What’s the thing you most want to achieve next year? How do you imagine you’ll feel when you get it? Free? Happy? Complete? Blissful? Write that feeling down. Then, brainstorm 10 things you can do, or 10 new thoughts you can think, in order to experience that feeling today. (Author: Tara Sophia Mohr)

2011 has been dubbed my Year of Education, and I intend to spend the majority of my year learning various things in various ways. Not school-learning, but life-learning. That’s the best kind anyway, isn’t it? Unsure of how I’ll feel when I ‘achieve’ education, I’m just going to keep trying to learn something everyday. It’s not until I look back (in about 365 days) that I will notice what I’ve learned, and more importantly, how I’ve learned it. Perhaps I will feel… larger.

Bigger, fuller, yet more compact, as though I’m filling my brain with goodness, akin to filling my body with leafy vegetables. Aha! That’s it! Learning is the leafy vegetable of the mind. Got it. So, how can I make my brain feel like it’s had a nice, crisp salad today? Let’s see…

1 – Book a lunch date with E The Cheerleader.

2 – Research future travel.

3 – Debate.

4 – Cook new recipes!

5 – De-junk my home. Seriously, I’ve got the ‘New Stuff For Christmas’ heebie jeebies, and I need to de-clutter.

6 – ooooh, do more crosswords! I always feel all brainy n’ stuff when I do crosswords.

7 – Buy ‘On Writing‘ by Stephen King, and you know, like, read it.

8 – Watch a TED talk about something I normally would pass by.

9 – Shuffle on over to FreeDocumentaries.org and waste some time there.

10 – Ask questions. Of everything and everybody.

I love to learn. I hated school when I was a kid, but I have learned very quickly that school is not where you learn. Well, not the things you’re expected to learn, anyway. I’m looking so forward to 2011, and I know that I’m going into it with a positive attitude, good friends by my side, and love in my heart. I am encouraged and keen and anticipating. I am impatient.

