December 29 – Defining Moment. Describe a defining moment or series of events that has affected your life this year. (Author: Kathryn Fitzmaurice)

I spent over 250 days preparing for my climb up Mt. Kilimanjaro. I avoided hiking as long as I could, I looked in the face of camping and laughed, I taste-tested enough protein bars to give myself the shakes on 3 separate occasions. I spent many an hour with my good friend, Ali, and we drunk baked our way to stupidity. I wrote every single day about how I was feeling, and what I wasn’t feeling… I spent over $10k to walk 8 days up a 19, 340 ft mountain on the African continent with 4 teammates, 17 porters, and too many eggs, and it affected my life in 1000 ways.

Old friends, new love, lost job, found talent, palatable support, endless generosity, new-found physical strength…

There is nothing like prepping for almost an entire year, for a single event, and have it change your life forever. I highly recommend it.

