December 31 – Core Story. What central story is at the core of you, and how do you share it with the world? (Author: Molly O’Neill).

My central story is not one that I share with the world. In fact, it’s not one that I share with many people at all. When historically your central story makes people blanch and/or run away, you learn to tuck it away inside where no one can know of it.

Those that *do* know my central story are those who I have learned to trust and respect. Only when I am confident that sharing the biggest part of who I am with someone will not result in my sobbing as they walk away, will I tell them my tale. Too often my central story has brought me reverberated pain. And since it’s MY story, it hurts all the more when I’m rejected for it.

The best way that I share my story with the world, is by being positive. I have distress, I have anguish, I have pain. But if I’m not able to see the good in all things, then my central story wins, and that’s not a contest I’m willing to settle for silver in. So, I smile. I truly and honestly show that I see the positivity in as much of everyday as I can.

I am me. There’s nothing more, nothing less. And I’m happy to share that with the people that I love. The rest of the world just gets a small piece, and one that I can take back at anytime. I am guarded, because I am scarred.

But that doesn’t have to stop me from smiling.

 

