So, last night The Cheerleader I Live With (who, by the way, was yesterday described by a friend of mine as ‘fluffy puppy cuddling baby miniature bunny on top of a pile of marshmallows adorable’), and I were chatting, and he was making some comments about my blog. He was saying things that were making sense, and I was actually listening – I know, weird!

Anyway, he was asking what blog was about, and I replied that I really didn’t know. That’s not true, of course, because I know that it was initially about my trying to become a published writer. He looked sideways at me, and cocked an eyebrow, and said, “wasn’t it initially about you trying to become a published writer?”  I hung my head in shame, “…yes”

He asked  why it wasn’t about that anymore, and I explained that I wasn’t writing about writing because I didn’t want to jinx anything. I told him that I wasn’t writing about writing because I thought that maybe it was boring, and that a bazgillion* people are probably blogging about it. I told him that I wasn’t writing about writing because… well, I didn’t want to fail publicly if I never got published. Then he said, “well… isn’t that the whole point?”

Stupid Cheerleader I Live With… being all right n’ stuff. Always making, like,  “sense” n’ crap. He *is* right, you know. I started this blog to document the ups and downs of this whole process. Maybe I’ll educate someone as I get all educated up, myself. And, given that this *is* my Year of Education, I’d best be embracing that opportunity.

So… without further ado, I am hereby announcing the thing that I’ve been keeping secret from the world because I didn’t want to jinx it by telling people: On Jan 16th, I’m meeting with an epublisher. I met her in the spring of 2009, and she suggested that once I returned from my Kilimanjaro climb, that I write up a manuscript of my blog posts and give her a call.

I climbed, I returned, I wrote… I hesitated, I waited, I wasted my time, I hid. It wasn’t until The Cheerleader I Work For sent the Pretty Epublisher Lady an email and CC’d me in on it. It basically said, “Hey, Pretty Epublisher Lady, Robyn’s ready to meet with you now.” Awkwaaaaaard! Anyway, the Pretty Epublisher Lady and I have set a date to meet (after I let her know that I have 92 pages, over 43,000 words, and a desperate need for an editor).

So there we go. I’ve let the cat out of the bag, and I’m hoping it doesn’t come back to walk in front of my path and cause me bad luck. From here on in, I’m going to write about writing. Come what may, I’m going to be honest and invite you all to anticipate, undertake, and (either way) recuperate with me.

My name is Robyn, and I’m writing about writing.

*Bazgillion may or may not be a real number

