No really, it was hella stormy here last night! Wind, rain, more wind… I was a little shocked when I woke up and didn’t find that the house had been blown to Panama or something. However, I’m sure the storm was to blame for the weird dreams that The Cheerleader I Live With and I had last night, though. He was a drug-running arm-breaker, and I was camping in a white, canvas cowboy boot. Maybe we shouldn’t have eaten popcorn before bed.

But how can you watch a movie without popcorn? We decided to take a night off, and stayed in to watch a Harry Potter movie. Harry Potter. JK Rowling. What an inspirational story that woman’s life is, eh? Told some bedtime stories to her kids, wrote them all down while sitting in coffee shops at night, went through THIRTEEN publishers before someone said, “yah, these are ok, I guess”, and now is a multi-gazbillionaire* through sales of those books, movies, merchandise, speaking engagements, yadda, yadda, yadda…

I have an enormous amount of respect for JK Rowling because she got an entire generation back into reading. Kids put down their video games and picked up books about wizards. Young adults didn’t bother to hide their book covers as they were reading about Harry, Ron and Hermione on the bus. Grown-ups finally took lunch breaks just to read a few chapters about the happenings at Hogwarts. Rowling is freaking brilliant, and is definitely one of my role models.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’ve got to go see Mr. Olivander and find myself a phoenix-tail magic wand to teach myself how to light stuff on fire.

*gazbillion may or may not be a real number

