As you may have noticed, I didn’t do a blog post yesterday. Why didn’t I do a blog post, you ask? Because I was in a pissy mood, and just didn’t damn well feel like it. There. How’s that for honesty?

Yesterday a lesson was learned about the power of choosing the proper words. Y’see, it’s very important to choose the proper words, if you expect to communicate with others effectively. I learned this from Stephen King, and I intend to use the proper words when writing The Book. However, yesterday, words were not chosen properly, and the end result was a snitty little tiff I had with The Cheerleader I Live With.

The Cheerleader I Live With and I rarely have arguments. We may disagree, but we do so respectfully. But when it comes to flat-out fights, they just don’t happen because our ability to communicate well with one another is near perfect. *ahem* let me say that one more time: NEAR perfect. Let me explain…

Yesterday, The Cheerleader I Live With said “ABC“, when what he meant to say was, “ABD“. Of course that led my wacky, hormone-fueled female brain to think, “OMG! he said AAB! What a dick!!”  This is turn led to simmering anger and that quiet, dangerous rage that we females can seep into the atmosphere. It also led to the I-have-no-idea-what-I-just-did-but-I’m-going-to-pay-for-it-for-the-next-3-days feeling that we females can plant in the brains of those men we love so adoringly.

Aaaaaaaaaanyway, The Cheerleader I Live With and I sat down and had a wee chat about it all to see if we could smooth things out. Turns out, after all was said and done, that he was taking MY side of the argument while I was taking HIS side of the argument. It basically went like this:

“You’re right.”

“No, YOU’RE right”

“Goddammit! YOU’RE right!!”

“YOU’RE right, so knock it off!!”

“Don’t make me hate you, pal. YOU’RE right, and that’s all there is to it!”

“Listen. Just admit that YOU’RE right, and we’ll get on with it, ok?”

…And on, and on like that.  So, we went on a little date last night and laughed our way through dinner, as we usually do.

 

So, there’s your lesson. Choose the right words, or else you’ll end up going out for a romantic dinner, and having a great night with someone you love.

 

…wait. That’s not right.

Whatever. Happy Saturday!

 

