I started out the day so well – I had my mocha, my Cheerleader I Live With, my 2 dogs (plus one foster, and one pug we found in the woods last night), a walk, some homemade bread with Twisted Fork jam, and we *just* turned the lost pug into a found one. AND it’s Ali’s birthday today (you know, The Cheerleader I Climb Mountains With). Yay!!

But then I went on-line. And I read this

I really liked that book. I wasn’t a fan of the writing style, but I loved the story. Now I feel like a total dupe.

Here’s the deal; The Book I am writing is based on fact. There will be some embellishments, but for the most part, the bulk will be factual. HOWEVER, I am going to make it clear that there ARE some embellishments. How hard is that for authors to do!?

I feel cheated. I feel angry for liking that book. And yes, he’s not admitting anything as yet, but the fact of the matter is, he’s being questioned about the authenticity of his story because some decent journalists (so few of those these days) did their leg work.

Let me finish by saying this: I hope I’m wrong. I will gladly retract this entire blog post and offer an apology if it turns out that Mortenson’s story is as he told it. And I’ll happily chastise the journalists who created this lie.

I has a sad.  😦

