Why do I do these things to myself?

So, I just finished reading the book Beyond Band of Brothers, the war memoirs of Major Richard Winters. Kind of a tough act to follow, this Winters character. He was all heroic and perfect, n’ stuff… I’m going to need a book that matches up to the story, the intellect and the humanity of a hero.

What did I choose? Lies and the Lying Liars that Tell Them by Al Franken. A book about some of the worst, most hateful and inane human beings to ever open their yammering gobs (Ann Coulter, GWB, Bill O’Reilly, Karl Rove…). However, the saving grace is that it was written by Franken, who is essentially a modern hero to me.

I went from reading about selflessness, determination, camaraderie, heroism and fearlessness to reading about spite, ignorance, fear-mongering, hate and destruction of the human psyche. It’s as though I walked through a beautiful forest then fell into a leech-infested swamp. Kind of like the movie Stand By Me, but with less testicle humour.

What has happened to us? Why do we now believe it’s a-ok to sacrifice our dignity in the name of our Rights? I just don’t get it.

Thank Dog for people like Al Franken, Christopher Hitchens, Jon Stewart, and Stephen Colbert. Without them, I’d have no one to learn from. I need those educated, comedic people, man. This world is too full of anger and resentment, dammit! C’mon people, can’t we just play nice? WAG MORE, BARK LESS!

Oh, and one more thing: We miss you Major Winters.

