The Cheerleader I Live With has a really rad mum. This should come as no surprise, given that she raised The Cheerleader I Live With, and he’s pretty darn great. Anyway, Mum is a very intelligent, highly creative person, and she is fantastic at cheering people on (Hmmmm… coincidence?), myself included. She’s attempting to write a book too, and although her book is significantly different than The Book, she is understanding and empathetic of the creative and writing processes.

She does things like send me cool quotes, such as:

Writing a novel is like driving a car at night.  You can only see as far as your headlights, but you can make the whole trip that way.  (E. L. Doctorow)

And she also sent me this TED Talk. (Yeah, it’s 20 minutes long, but it’s very, very worth it).

…and it made me cry. But in a good way, I swear!

It was the part at (10:18) about the poet hearing poems rumble across the sky towards her that struck me hardest – like a punch to the heart. And Tom Waits, asking Creativity to respect traffic safety, and Elizabeth Gilbert herself asking her own little inspiration fairy to work as hard as she was…

All this talk of creativity, motivation, and inspiration brought me a dizzying high, and I feel as though I could sit and write forever! But it then brought me a catastrophic low, in that I cruelly thought to myself, “you’ve been motivated like this before… and it got you nowhere”

Ouch. Guess the truth really DOES hurt sometimes.

*sigh* When will I allow my motivation to work with my creativity?

When will I stop being just motivated?

When will I stop making excuses, and start making progress again?

I have no idea.

