I heard the other day that Adele‘s ex-boyfriend was attempting to sue her for royalties, because her ever-so-successful album is full of songs written about the relationship the two of them had. Now, I don’t know if this is true or not, but it made me laugh all the same.

Could you imagine the flood of lawsuits that would create?! All those muses trying to cash in on the fact that they simply were. I’d love to see the lawyers that take up these cases. And really, how would you ever go about representing muses such as water, mountains, trees, and other such nature-iffic things?

People write about their dogs, their cars, their countries, their gardens, their homes… they write about anger, sadness, love, laughter, and indifference. Anything and everything can be (and surely is) a muse.  Actually, it reminds me of a t-shirt I saw a guy wearing a while ago that said, “Be nice, or I’ll put you in my novel”. Love it!

I’d better be careful! If I ever publish The Book, I could be served with court docs by a fresh-out-of-law-school lawyer who is representing a very large mountain in a very far-away land. “Ms. Thomson? I have here a cease and desist order… I represent Miss. Manjaro, who you appear to be blatantly exploiting for your own personal gain.”

I think Adele is safe on this one. What do you think?

xo

