At breakfast this morning The Cheerleader I Live With received a phone call. His auntie A has been fighting cancer for over a year, and early this morning, with her husband and sons by her side, she ended her journey here on earth, and began a new one in a better place.

Auntie A was a witty, talented, and beautiful woman. She had a hell of a lot of friends, and a whole mess of family that loved her dearly. The Cheerleader I Live With was close with his Auntie A, so I wanted to honour that and dedicate this blog post to him. So if you’ll indulge me…

The Cheerleader I Live With is a strong, patient, and honest man. He’s what’s often referred to as A Good Man. He’s kind, loving, generous, and has the weirdest, strangest sense of humour that fits perfectly with mine. He’s a man that can show his emotions without shame, and he’s so very worthy of respect and love. He’s had a long few months watching his Auntie A fight off that bitch that we all call cancer, and he’s been a great source of strength for his mum, who has sadly had to watch her sister battle The Beast.

Fuck cancer. Fuck it for taking all the good ones, and taking them too soon. Auntie A wasn’t yet 50 years old, and it would have been really nice to have her around for another 50 years or so, I can tell you that much. Cancer stole a mother, a wife, a daughter, an aunt, a sister, and a friend. Dick move, cancer.

Cancer is a big, fat jerk. Cancer is an asshole, and a total meanie, and I hate it. I hate you cancer. I hate you with the fire of a thousand suns. I hate you, and want to punch you right in your ugly, cancer face. You know what cancer? I hope you get cancer. That’s right, I hope you get cancer, cancer. I haven’t ever wished that on someone, but I think I’ve finally found a deserving recipient of such evil.

You suck balls, cancer. You take husbands and then try to take their young sons. You steal moms who are amazing artists, uncles who aren’t at all creepy, grandmas, grandpas, brothers, and nephews… You rip dads and daughters from our hearts. You steal best friends, coworkers, teammates, and babysitters. And, you bastard you, you even take pets. You took my damn dog, for god’s sake! You greedy son of a bitch.

So yeah, fuck cancer! Fuck cancer for making The Cheerleader I Live With, and his entire family, have to feel the hurt of losing someone so dear to them. I’ll tell you this, cancer: if I’m ever out drinking in a bar, and you walk in, I’m totally going to kick your ass. And I’ll fight dirty too. Best to stay out of my way, cancer, and you’d be wise to get to know all of my loved ones and keep the hell away from them, too. Asshole.

*sigh*

Auntie A… rest well in your new, pain-free home. You’ll be missed forever.

xo

PS – I will answer Anonymous2nd question in my blog tomorrow, ok?

