I asked The Cheerleader I Live With what I should blog about today, and, after slowly looking up from my iPhone, he said to me, “Angry. F*cking. Birds.” He then went back to staring at my iPhone and tapping at its screen in a vain attempt to mash green pigs with fat birds. As much as I appreciate his input, I think I’ll take a different route…

I’ve always had issues with having my photo taken. I feel so damn awkward posing in front of a camera, and I just don’t think I’m all that photogenic. It’s been something that has led to some serious body issues over the years.

Enter my friend, and uber-rad photographer, Justine. I called her up right around the time of my 30th birthday and said, ‘Lady, I need your help’… I needed to learn to relax in front of the camera, and I figured that the perfect combination of friendship, flattering light and intoxicants, I may be able to make some headway with this. So, Justine sauntered on over to my place with her camera, some lighting equipment, a bit of make-up and a lot of body glitter, and we spent the afternoon getting drunk and taking photos of me.

Once the hangover wore off and the pictures came back, Justine and I decided that perhaps we had a bigger project on our hands here. Cut to 5 years later, and we now have a rather extensive portfolio of my weird little self, as we’re having a blast drunkenly documenting the way my weird little self changes as I age through my 30’s. It’s such a fun thing to do, and I feel so much better about having my photo taken now. Granted, I still prefer candid shots, but Justine has made it much easier for me to deal with it when someone stuffs a camera in my face. I still refuse to “say Cheese”, though. That’s just stupid, if you ask me.

Why am I telling you this? Well, aside from the fact that tomorrow Justine will once again saunter on over to my abode, and will snap photos of me AND The Cheerleader I Live With, I tell you this because I needed to remind myself that art and fear are happy bedfellows. One cannot be as strong without the other – they make each other better, provided they aren’t too stand-alone strong. Kind of like chocolate and caramel! Both good on their own, but together they make something amazing and gorge-worthy. Have too much (or too little) of one, and the whole effect is thrown to the wolves.

I couldn’t write The Book without fearing it.

Do one thing everyday that scares you…

Fear makes good art better.

See you tomorrow, Justine!!  xo

