Ever read the book Manufacturing Guilt? Man, that really scared the crap out of me when I read it for a college course a few years ago. The biggest thing I took away from it was how easily a public need for justice could sway a charge, let alone a conviction. I bring this up because right now there is a very public case of a kidnapping in BC, and the police have just caught the suspected kidnapper. Even though the chances are fairly high that the suspect is guilty of this kidnapping, the question (to me, at least) remains: what if he’s not?

I want the book I write to be as memorable and as thought-provoking as Manufacturing Guilt has been for me. Although it’s not the greatest book ever written, it certainly stayed with me, and challenged my thought process. I like that!

I’ve been on the hunt for a new book to read… anyone got something they can recommend?

