Only 116 days until The Cheerleader I Live With and I fly off to Guatemala, with El Camino Voluntours, to help Project Somos build a children’s village, and damn are we excited!  It’s coming along nicely, don’t you think? I bring this up today because September 15th is The United Kingdom of Guatemala’s Independence Day – yay!! (It’s also Independence Day for Honduras, El Salvador, Nicaragua, Mexico, and Costa Rica, too).

What a world we live in. There’s so much I don’t know… just yesterday I did a little research into Cabrini Green in Chicago, and felt as though I were learning about a whole different world altogether. I’ll be honest though, just looking at photos of the place gave me the heebie-jeebies. Old buildings in general give me the heebie-jeebies! Ever seen old photos of Riverview Psychiatric Hospital? How about we up the level of creepiness and have a look at some photos of …*gulp*Woodlands.

There’s something about a building being so neglected, and in such a state of disrepair that makes you cringe at the thought of the people who (had to?) live there. *shudder*…

How the hell did I get on this topic? First I was talking about Guatemala, and then wound up giving myself the squibblies looking at photos of abandoned asylums and institutions! Dammit people, don’t let me DO these things! What is wrong with you?! First you’re all muffin-obsessed, and now THIS! I don’t know why I keep talking to you people. You freak me right the hell out sometimes. Bad people! BAD!

I’ve gotta’ fix this mess…

Candy Mountain!!

 

