As some of you may recall, The Cheerleader I Live With and I start each morning by reading from The Book of Awesome at the breakfast table. This morning we got to chatting (yet again) about awesome things, and I thought I’d share a few with you. Thanks to Neil Pasricha for letting us borrow his idea for a bit…

Things that awesome:

1) Food inside other food. Raisins inside oatmeal, jelly inside donuts, fruit inside strudel, icing inside cake… I challenge you all to find a way to make food even better. Seriously, to stuff food inside other food is genius. It even works with beverages! Chocolate inside coffee, gin inside tonic, fruit inside sangria… the list can go on forever! But the epitome of awesome food inside other food? Chewy Coke bottle candies inside a Slurpee. Yeah, you know you did it.

2) YouTube. How else are you going to watch Jeff Winger krump with Abed and Troy at the end of Community over and over and over again?

3) Friends who send you links to ridiculous things. Sometimes you don’t want to laugh, but you do. Right Christine?

4) Phones with cameras. I love catching those moments that should never be captured. Like when your dog has ‘morning face’. This is the wallpaper on my phone right now:

5) People who put effort into their Halloween costumes. Seriously. Some people are amazingSome people are disturbed. Some people are curiously creative. Some people are hard workers with a hell of a lot of time. And some people are cruel… yet incredibly talented.  I just don’t have it in me. I’m not very good at coming up with costumes. I’m not creative at all when it comes to Halloween. Last year I went as “The Walk of Shame”,one year I went as “Girl Just out of The Shower”, and I even pulled off “Pregnant Ski Bunny” for a party downtown a few years back. I suck.

Anyway… I love Awesome Things. I get a kick out of reminding myself how fabulous everyday things can be, and it makes me cognizant of how much I take for granted sometimes. We all do it, don’t we?

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’ve got to put my towel directly over the heater so that it’s all warm and snuggly for me when I step out of the shower.

Happy Thursday!

PS – Thursdays are pretty awesome, too. They remind you that Friday is tomorrow! Yay!

xo

 

