Thursday?! How did that happen? I swear it was Monday just a few days ago. See? This is what happens when I don’t blog for a couple of days. But sometimes things take over, and blogs (among other things) get pushed aside.

Y’see, for those of you who may not know, I have a wee battle with depression that rages every now and then. For the most part, life is pretty damn fantastic. However, there are times when life is pretty damn fantastic but everything sucks and I hate everything and everything is stupid and shut up. Or something like that. At the risk of sounding cliche: there’s a time when the darkness comes, and I just can’t get out of bed. Tuesday and Wednesday were like that for me. Hence, the lack of blogging. Hence the lack of smiling, talking, showering, moving, experiencing any sort of joy whatsoever, and basically feeling human.

Y’see, the thing is, I’m still not feeling fabulous, but it’s getting better. I’ve been feeling the spiral for the past week or two, but it just sort of kept itself to an acceptable level until a few days ago. It’s kind of like walking through a really large mud puddle: shallow but icky at the start, super deep, dark and murky in the middle, then shallowing out as it comes to an end. However, to be much more accurate, the puddle is kind of like that one from Stand By Me where the boys go right under the water a few steps in, then come out covered in leeches. Yah, that’s more apt, I think. Well, aside from the rough housing and laughter part…

Aaaaaaaaaaaanyway… I’m climbing my way out of the puddle now, and even though my undies are wet and full of leeches, I know I’ll be laughing and smiling again soon.

Hopefully I’ll be making you laugh and smile again, too.

Happy Thursday.

xo

PS – for a very, VERY good description of what depression is like, have a boo at this ‘comic’ strip by one of the funniest women on the planet. I read this and nearly cried my face off because it was so honest and so real. Her other stuff is ridiculously funny, though… like THIS. Aaaaaand THIS.

