Hello everybody! Welcome back! I hope you had a lovely weekend, with all the giving, receiving, eating and drinking. I know I did… it was busy, but it was good busy, so no complaints here.

Lots of kindness in my world, I can tell you that. I asked for three things this year: donations to charity in my name, cash for my upcoming trip to Guatemala with The Cheerleader I Live With, and AJ Jacobs’ new book (which comes out in April). I received everything I asked for in spades! I have very good people in my life, and I know that. I hope I don’t take any of them for granted….

I decided to buy myself a present this year: I got me one o’ them thar’ Kindle thingies. I didn’t think I’d ever go into the eBook world, but I just couldn’t see traveling without an eReader of some sort. I did my research and chose The Kindle, and had it shipped PDQ… it should arrive today. Yay!

Now, I’m not the most technically brilliant person out there, so I know that as soon as I get it, open the box, and marvel at its shiny being, I’m going to stare at my new Kindle and probably start to cry. I have no idea what to do with this thing! The same thing happened when I got my MacBook. And my iPhone. And my portable hard drive. And my coffee maker.

Thankfully, being now uber plugged in to the world of electronic everything, I have access to a wealth of resources that I can call on to give me a hand. Most notably, the absolute best help-aid are my friends. They’ve been giving me advice and tips on my soon-to-arrive Kindle via email, text, facebook, and (*gasp*) face-to-face chats. There is a wealth of knowledge out there, and I am but a simple change purse. Not only are my friends totally awesome, they’re also (hopefully) patient, and (I assume) non-judgmental. Maybe that’s the best part about all this electronic communicating: I can’t see them roll their eyes at my inane questions of
how do I do THAT?!”, and “I think I screwed something up…”

Thankfully I have a kick-ass “Kindle Sensei” in my friend Mark. And I… I am his spongy grasshopper.

I’ll let you know how it goes…

Happy Wednesday!

xo

