On behalf of No More Mountains, I welcome you all to 2012 – yay for a brand new year!

New Year’s isn’t all that mysterious to me or anything, but the idea of 365 days of new adventures ahead is pretty cool. I think The Cheerleader I Live With and I are starting 2012 off well as we trundle off to Central America in… six more sleeps! Six? Only six!? Sweet!

I don’t do the whole ‘resolution’ thing, but I do ‘name’ my upcoming year, in the hopes that I’m able to live up to it for the next 52 weeks. 2009 was ‘I’m going to Greece’, and sure enough, I went to Greece. 2010 was ‘The Year of Adventure’, and holy hell was THAT an adventurous year for me – I did a LOT of things I hadn’t done before (and will happily never do again). 2011 was ‘The Year of Education’, and although that was meant as a way to chase something scholarly, I ended up learning a lot about myself. It worked out better than I thought, I guess.

And 2012? What’s this year going to be dubbed?

I’ve come to understand that naming a year makes it come to life, and there’s a bit of freaky pressure with that. Whatever I say, the year will bring. That’s just how it works. So I’ve spent some time thinking about this, because it really does mean something to me, and I do believe I’ve made a decision…

2012 is The Year to Fix It.

There’s a lot of things that need fixing in my life, and they’re not just physical things… however, as I so often tell The Cheerleader I Live With (who is 8 years younger than me): “I’m old”, so I can’t ignore the physical stuff. I’ve noticed some things about my body and my brain that either 1) my advancing age has created, or 2) my advancing age has allowed me to see and/or acknowledge. Things need to change. Things need fixing.

My back and neck are a useless sack of pain due to a car accident that happened in 2009, so I’m going to focus on fixing them.

I’ve been pretty hard on myself emotionally, so I’m going to be employing the assistance of someone who can help me fix that.

In an effort to give my back and neck a little less tension, I’d like to get rid of a little extra weight. I’ll fix that with Cara’s help.

I have a great deal of internal stress, which manifests itself physically. GOTTA’ fix that!

I’m continually worried about money – saving it, spending it, using it the right way… it all needs fixing.

I am unemployed. I seriously need to fix that, as I believe it has a lot to do with my stress, my weight, and my mood (not to mention my financial aggravations).

There are a lot of things in my life that I think are pretty darn awesome, and really need no ‘fixing’. They need continual attention and plying, but they’re not broken or anything. I need to focus on maintaining positive and reciprocal relationships. I need to focus on continuing to pursue my passions. I need to focus on the goodness and the joy that continually comes from the shared love I have with The Cheerleader I Live With.

And what about The Book?

The Book that my whole last year was supposed to be about creating? Well, I need to let go of it being such a momentous thing. I need to just let it happen naturally, if it’s going to happen at all. If it’s meant to be, it will be. That’s all there is to it. That’s the best I can do right now, and I’m ok with that.

And so with that, I say to myself and again to you: Welcome to 2012!

It’s time to Fix It.

xo

 

