I saw this really cool idea on Pintrest a couple of weeks ago, and I finally got a chance to shamelessly steal it today. Yay for theft!

Some creative woman had made a Date Night Jar for she and her husband, where she wrote ideas for dates on a bunch of popscicle sticks and put them in a pretty jar. Then, when it was date night, they’d randomly choose a popscicle stick and go out to enjoy the activity that was written on there. Pretty cute idea, I thought, and when I told The Cheerleader I Live With about it, he got pretty excited, too! That settled it – I would make a Date Night Jar, too.

So, off I went to the Dollar Store (nothing’s too good for MY Date Night Jar!) to pick up some popscicle sticks and a few felt markers. Now, I’m no expert on pens and other writing implements, but I think I have a pretty good idea of what features a good pen/marker/crayon should have. THIS is not one of those features:

I mean really, for the love of god, do you NEED four tiny markers that are attached with a key ring? Are you using these markers so frequently that you need to have them on-hand at all times, and so need to attach them to your house keys lest you leave home without them? Look at that photo! Even Jenn can see that markers don’t need a keyring. And she’s a DOG! She doesn’t understand anything that doesn’t sound like “walkies” or “kibble”! Anyway, it doesn’t matter. The point is, I got the markers because they were stupid, and because I’m a sucker for anything in tiny form. You win again Dollar Store!

And so, I sat down and created my Date Night Jar, but only put the names of restaurants on the popscicle sticks because The Cheerleader I Live With and I really like to eat. And we’re never going to find a place to go dancing… and roller rinks don’t exist anymore… and Cosmic Bowling is stupid with only two people. Sure it’s not as pretty as the Date Night Jar that the other woman made, but she probably is one of those stay-at-home moms with TONS of time on her hands to add glitter to jars and use scrapbook stickers, and ribbon, and… wallpaper. But I’m unemployed, people! I’ve got shit TO DO. Whatever. Here’s my jar:

I proudly showed the jar to The Cheerleader I Live With, and he looked at me and said, “what’s that?”

“It’s our Date Night Jar!” I said, “I told you about it the other day. You were really excited about it!”

“Ohhh, the popscicle stick thing. Oh. Oh…”, he looks at the jar more closely, “Right. Yeah, it’s good… looks… good”

I mean, I’m not expecting a guy to get all jazz-hands over a craft project, but The Cheerleader I Live With actually seemed to like this idea when I proposed it to him before, so I couldn’t understand his underwhelming response when I showed it to him. “What’s the matter?”, I asked, “not enough ribbon?”

“No, it’s not that, it’s just… I thought you were going to make popscicles with the popscicle sticks”, he said

“Oh. Well, I could make popscicles! Sure, I’ll go get more sticks, or maybe those plastic molds with the built-in sticks?”, I suggested

“No, I thought you were going to put popscicles in the jar, and then on Date Night we would get to eat one. And then when we were finished eating it we would go to the restaurant whose name was printed on the stick”

Holy shit. Why didn’t I think of that!? That’s a WAY better idea!

Fuck it. From now on, The Cheerleader I Live With is in charge of all craft projects around here. Between this and the rose-tomato (more on that later), he’s way better at this stuff than I am. Now if you’ll excuse me, I’ve got to go back to the Dollar Store for more popscicle sticks… and some new key ring markers. Those things are AWESOME.

Happy Wednesday!

xo

