Today… I turn 36 years old. How in the Christ did that happen?!

One day I’m dressing up my cat and stuffing him in a doll carriage, then next I’m paying $75 to have my dog shaved at the groomer. Oh how things change!

The first time I was ‘on stage’ I was dressed up as a bird, and danced around singing “If a bird can do it, why can’t I fly, fly, fly…” while a caveman danced around. I’m sure my mom was just so proud. Then, I made my way into the big leagues: secondary school theatre productions. I landed the plum role of ‘Anybody’s’ in West Side Story (where I developed a wild crush on Officer Krupke… everyone else falls for Tony, but I go for the guy with authority and a trench coat), and I totally fell in love with acting. My last foray onto the stage was playing an Agatha Christie conniving vamp. I only bring that up, because without that role, my last time on stage would have been  when I faked a couple dozen orgasms in The Vagina Monologues.  (mom, forget that you just read that. Think about kittens instead, ok?)

I started to love writing when my 4th grade teacher sent in one of my stories to OWL magazine. It didn’t get published, but it was a pretty cool feeling to think that someone liked my writing! And now, I have a lovely little following as I blog away about ridiculously random things. I mean, it’s not OWL, but it’ll do.

I’ve traveled to 10 countries on 5 continents, climbed 1 mountain, owned 6 dogs, made a bazgillion* friends, survived 1 divorce, drove my way through 7 cars, (made it through 4 accidents – none my fault!), chopped all my hair off ONCE (never again, man, never again), spent thousands of dollars on shoes, held about a dozen jobs, have 8 tattoos (and counting), and have earned one university degree.

I have successfully managed to never climb the Grouse Grind, and I intend to keep that pristine record, thank you very much.

I have lived in 7 different houses, have been two different superheroes (Shiv and Tigress), and did the highland fling at Expo86.

I’ve seen the Eiffel Tower, harvested sea salt in the Ionian Sea, toured Iximche with a Mayan priest, pet a dingo, got laughed at by a Chagga man for eating pumpkin seeds, had my laundry washed by a Scottish stranger (that is not a euphemism), cried while watching Air Bud on a bus from Paris to Rotterdam, and roasted marshmallows over the coals of an active Central American volcano.

I drunk bake.

I am 36 years old, and I love my life. I live in a park, am engaged to The Cheerleader I Live With, have 2 weirdo dogs, and a freezer full of baking and chocolate. I laugh everyday. I have peace and happiness, love and friendship. There really isn’t much to complain about at all. So hey, happy birthday, indeed.

Happy Tuesday everyone!

xo

*Bazgillion may or may not be a real number… but dammit, it’s close this time.

