Last night I got my ass kicked by 5 women.

Actually, that’s not true. They didn’t really kick my ass, but they threatened to. I have joined a group called Kickstart your Creativity, which was the brainchild of none other than E The Cheerleader. (She’s just so gung-ho about everyone being successful! That’s a good friend to have, eh?) It’s a group of women who are fabulous in their own right, but feel like they’re missing that little something that helps them to express their creative side. There are actors, photographers, painters, writers, crafty-crafty type ladies… a veritable cornucopia of talent! So we decided to join forces as a way to network with, encourage, motivate, and praise one another as we go about trying to grow more into our creative selves.

It’s also very good for accountability. As one lovely actor/teacher said last night (I’ll paraphrase a bit here), “I was nervous about coming to this meeting all day. I had a weird feeling in my stomach, and I realized that it was accountability. You mean I can’t just watch Buffy the Vampire Slayer all day? I have to actually do the things I say I’m going to do? Well, crap.”

I hear that.

I’m not good with accountability. I know that. The more people expect of me, the lazier I get. If you push me, I dig in my heels like a dog being dragged to the bathtub. No! No! No! No! I need to go at my own pace, and in my own time. I don’t think I’m alone in that. It’s taken me some time to learn that I need to be patient with myself, and the more books I read where authors say things like, “it took me 15 years to write this book!”, then I feel better about where I am. All in good time, all in good time…

Anyway, we’re going to meet monthly, so I’ll let you know how it goes. I’m a little afraid of that accountability thing, but as long as keep my head about me, and not let myself get stressed out if others are producing more than I am, then I should be ok.  In the meantime, I’m going to go download some Buffy the Vampire Slayer. I’ve heard it’s really good.

Happy Thursday!

xo

