I’m not really sure how to start this blog post today. I know you all want your Friday Trainwreck, and in all honesty, so do I. But how can I write something silly and nutty when my heart is telling me not to? But then again, after being hit with sad news stories again and again, maybe you need me to write something silly and nutty, to help you to forget for just a moment how cruel and terrible humans can be sometimes.

I’m just me. I drink mochas, I walk every morning, and today I’m making blueberry coulis so that I can put it into cornmeal muffins for The Cheerleader I Live With to enjoy with his coffee.

My feet are covered in mosquito bites because we live in a swamp and I am too stubborn to not wear flip-flops. It’s summer. I *have to* wear flip-flops. That’s just the way it is.

I secretly let my dog sleep on the couch when The Cheerleader I Live With isn’t home.

I’m also terrible at keeping secrets.

But I’m not sure how to keep the world from you. I’m not sure how to make it all better. I’m not sure how to keep you smiling when it seems wrong to feel anything but shock and despair when humanity betrays you.

I think the only thing that I can tell you is that you’re a good person. You are what makes the world a better place. You matter, you have heart, you have compassion, and you love. You are important.

If you hurt today, I am sorry. But please know that you hurt because you’re a true, lovely person. I know that doesn’t seem fair, and I know that you get sick of being tested so damn much. But you’re still here, and you still care, and you still are you.

And I… I am still me. I still drink mochas, I still  bake, I still walk every day, I still scratch my feet in my sleep, and I still brush the dog hair off the couch before The Cheerleader I Live With gets home. I still care, because YOU still care. YOU are the reason why it’s ok for me to keep believing in the human race. YOU are the reason why it’s ok to cry, and then let myself watch The Daily Show when I’m done.

So, and this may sound weird, I want to thank you for the hurt that you’re feeling today. Because it gives the world around you hope that some people still care.

Take some time today to feel the hurt and the shock that you need to feel, but then take a deep breath and remind yourself that you’re a good person. Do something nice for yourself. Get another coffee, go back to that store and get that thing that you’ve been drooling over for the past week, treat yourself to a pizza for dinner, put your feet up and read your book. Because you deserve it, because you’re you.

Thank you for being you.

And please, allow yourself the freedom to enjoy the rest of the day – because you can.

Happy Friday, everyone…

xo

