This morning on my commute, I heard the following question: “What do you think is humanity’s greatest failing?”, and it got me thinking. A lot. Goddammit, I hate it when that happens.

Well, my first (immediate) response was ‘cruelty to animals’, but then I thought, ‘no, the way we treat women…’ And then from there it just allllllllllll rolled out: ‘our ineffectual governments and pointless voting systems, greed, apathy, our addiction to oil, the destruction of the planet, plastic choking the oceans,Monsanto, a court system that often appears to favour the criminal element, Big Banks, Big Tobacco, the NRA, puppy mills, the phrase, “it’s what the Founding Fathers wanted…”, or, “It’s what the Bible says!”, Ooooh…organized religion! No wait,  our prison systems, slave labour, high-fructose corn syrup, The Internet, racism, “journalism”, celebrity worship, overpaid sports players, how we treat our elderly, underpaid teachers, underappreciated social workers, poverty, Big Pharma, world hunger, an inability to control population growth, hatred of difference, and indifference to hatred…’

And on, and on, and on…

And then it hit me. I know exactly what humanity’s greatest failing is: it’s the fact that we have so damn many failings. We are freaking dumbasses, man. Our skulls are thick as bricks, and we just don’t seem to get it. Sure, it’s not ALL of us, but it’s enough of us. So, what do we do? Personally, I try my best to be conscious of my buying habits, and I think that I’m generally pretty good at the whole, ‘do unto others…‘ thing. Sometimes, though, I kind of feel like I’m battling a forest fire with a squirt gun.

God. What a fucking DOWNER I am today! Jeebus, lady, get a bit of a grip here. People come to your blog to laugh, and to commiserate with your poor husband, and to get away from the dickishness of society for a few brief moments. And you go and ruin a pefectly good Tuesday with all your lame “reality” and “boo-hoo” blah, blah, blah. I really need to start listening to audio books on my commute, so that I stop thinking so damn much. Stupid brain. Always wrecking things…

*sigh* I think I need to go back to the nude beach.

Or maybe I just need to eat more cake.

Enjoy your Tuesday everyone – go get some cake, would ya’?

xo

