Last night as I was driving home from work, I began thinking about the word ‘legacy’. It popped into my head because I had overheard a woman earlier in the day talking about her newborn son, and how he is the legacy that she and her husband will leave the world. The anti-kid in me immediately thought, “but what if things go sideways, and he goes full Hitler or something?!“, which was quickly replaced with, “…but then again, he could be a scientist that cures cancer, or a doctor who creates a nice new way to administer pap smears!“… you just never know, I guess. But really, no one likes a speculum so I’ll cross my fingers that the kid will be an OB/GYN and not a despot. 

I’m not having children (we can all breathe a sigh of relief with that statement, I’d say), so I won’t have the “joy” of popping out my own legacy.

A couple of years ago, I read Malcom Gladwell’s book The Tipping Point, and he described something that made me think that I may actually be a good person: The Connector. As per Wiki: Connectors are the people in a community who know large numbers of people and who are in the habit of making introductions. They usually know people across an array of social, cultural, professional, and economic circles, and make a habit of introducing people who work or live in different circles. They are people who “link us up with the world…people with a special gift for bringing the world together”.They are “a handful of people with a truly extraordinary knack [… for] making friends and acquaintances”. I think that’s me!

I don’t want to leave a boring old “regular” legacy. I want something different. I decided long ago that I want MY legacy to be other people’s legacies. I want to be that anonymous background person who helps others achieve their own dreams, and leave their own mark in the name of goodness. I love ‘connecting’ people in an effort to help them achieve goals and realize dreams! I’m lucky in that I know a boatload of people from a huge variety of backgrounds; from roadies, to chefs, authors, dog rescue operators, bagpipe players, educators, lawyers, tattoo artists, non-profit project creators, skateboard park designers, and beyond. And if I can find a way to bring any of these people together in a positive way, I’ll do it. It’s like the best game EVER!

Uhhh… before I go any further here, I need to set the record straight about one thing: I absolutely suck at setting people up in an effort to create a romantic relationship. I also suck at guessing people’s ages and their weight. Please don’t ask me for help in those departments unless you want to wind up with a broken heart, or a healthy sense of dejection. But if you’ve got a good idea, a keen interest in helping the world, or a dream that could make a positive impact, I probably know someone who can help you get it off the ground.

I want to leave the world a better place, and I know I can’t do that on my own, so I’m content to go around and introduce awesome people to other awesome people. Making people happy, seeing dreams actualized, having the world be a bit better, a bit brighter, and bit more fun… Now THAT’S a legacy I’m ok with leaving.

Happy Tuesday, awesome people!

xo

PS – Fuck you, speculums!

